What’s with the hate?

I was going to talk about my white water rafting trip in this post. But I’ve changed my mind. I’ll tell y’all about my first time white water rafting later. Now I’ve decided to talk about something that has really been bothering me for a while. It’s something I don’t understand and something I feel is totally unnecessary. It’s also something that I’m only going to address one time because quite frankly, I don’t want to spend too much time on it.

I had the pleasure of watching The Brian Buckley Band’s new video for “I Am Human” featuring Jared and Genevieve Padalecki. Now, I’ll be honest. I’m not really a Brian Buckley Band fan. I heard them live at a SPN convention, and they just weren’t my cup of tea. That’s not to say that they’re bad, because they’re not. They’re just not my taste. That being said, I was surprised to find that I enjoyed “I Am Human.” Aside from Jared and Gen being in the video, the song itself was great. The song is beautifully sad, yet it also seems hopeful at the same time. Jared and Gen’s performances in the narrative part of the music video convey that message perfectly. I initially watched it because I wanted to support Jared, but now that I’ve heard the song, it really doesn’t matter to me that Jared and Gen were in the video. The song is what stuck. I still wouldn’t say that I’m a fan of The Brian Buckley Band, but it is fair to say that I am a fan of that particular song.

I guess you might be asking yourself, what am I bothered about if I liked the song so much? Well, what’s bothering me has nothing at all to do with that song or the video. What’s bothering me is that hate directed at Genevieve Padalecki. I watched the “I Am Human” video on youtube, and I was going to post a comment about how much I enjoyed the song. As I was skimming through the comments (the majority of which were praising the song) I saw some seriously hate-filled comments directed at Genevieve. I will not repeat any of the vile comments that were made, but it really bothered me that people would wish harm to her simply because she married Jared. Or that people would claim that her marriage is a sham and that she is somehow manipulating Jared. Now, I realize that Jared and Gen are grown-ups and they can take care of themselves, but the hate directed at Gen (and at Jensen’s wife Danneel too) is completely unnecessary. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting Jared and Gen at a Supernatural convention. I met Gen by accident because she was not participating in the convention events, but she was a very nice person. She was very humble and sweet. The same goes for Jared. In addition to being a pretty funny guy, he’s also very kind-hearted, humble, and one of the sweetest people I’ve ever met. And as a fan of Gen’s work on SPN, it annoys me that people, who have most likely never even met Gen, would say such horrid things about her. It’s one thing to critique her performance as Ruby on Supernatural. I think that’s fair game. But it’s a horse of a different color to wish harm upon her and/or her family or to insinuate that she is somehow helping Jared to cover up being in a gay relationship with Jensen (despite all evidence to the contrary). I do not understand how someone can profess to be a fan of Jared and/or Jensen and be so hateful toward their wives. If you don’t think Genevieve and Danneel have decent acting chops; fine. That’s valid and that kind of criticism is something I think any actor/actress should be prepared to deal with when they make the decision to pursue that career. But I don’t know how anyone could (or even should have to) prepare to constantly be called ugly names, have your love for your spouse called into question, and be accused to trying to ride your husband’s coattails to success. I’m not defending Gen and Danneel. Like I said, they’re grown-ups and they can defend themselves. I am saying that the haters need to go away. All that hate and negativity doesn’t add anything of substance to the discussion. I guess I just have a problem with people being so unnecessarily ugly to each other.

Since I endeavor to end all of my posts on a positive note, I will say this. If you have a chance, check out “I Am Human” either at The Brian Buckley Band’s website (here) or on their youtube page (here). It really is a good song. I will still share my harrowing tale of white water rafting (and zip lining)  with y’all. You’ll just have to wait until my next post. In the meantime, let’s be kind to each other. You never know how powerful your act of kindness can be to someone else. Until next time, peace, love, and joy to all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

