All About Adam

As promised…

When I initially watched the S4 ep “Jump the Shark,” I felt kind of sorry for Adam. I mean, how could you not? Here’s a kid of a hard-working single mother. His dad (and I use that term loosely) was almost completely absent from his life. Kid is minding his own business, studying to be a doctor. Then BOOM! He gets eaten by ghouls. To say that sucks is quite the understatement. I understand that John was trying to protect Adam from the kind of life Dean and Sam had, and I respect that. For all of John’s faults and shortcomings, I think he really did love his kids. He just didn’t do a particularly good job of showing it. But just because someone doesn’t love you the way you want or need them to doesn’t mean they don’t love you with everything they’ve got. I think that is certainly true of John Winchester. But also,  Adam’s situation was different from the Winchester boys because he still had his mom. After Mary died, all Dean and Sam had was John. They didn’t have anywhere else to go and be kids. They didn’t have anyone to shield them from knowing about all of the things that go bump in the night. I’ve always believed that if John had someone else, anyone else, who could’ve allowed his boys to keep their innocence,  he would’ve left them there. John even said at one point in S1 that he never wanted the hunting life for his boys. Although we didn’t know about Adam at the time, I’m pretty sure that statement covered Adam too. The ghoul that replaced Adam wasn’t really Adam, so we didn’t get a chance to actually meet the REAL Adam until “Point of No Return” in S5.

“Point of No Return” is my favorite SPN episode. One of my favorite writers (Jeremy Carver) penned the ep. The brotherly relationship was perfectly handled. We got to see the fruits of 5 years of character development. It’s also one of the few times we get to see Cas share what he’s feeling. And most importantly, Dean kills Zachariah in one of the most awesome Dean Winchester moments ever. The only thing that I don’t like about “Point of No Return” is Adam. Now, I can understand being bitter that you were eaten by a ghoul. I mean, honestly. Who wouldn’t be a bit ticked off about that? I don’t fault him at all. I can also understand him wanting to work with the angels on their word that they would bring his mother back. I think we’re pretty much programmed to believe the angels because, well, they’re angels. But one of the things SPN has shown us is that the angels (most of them anyway) are worse than demons. But that’s another discussion. Let’s get back to Adam. I can understand his inclination to believe the angels. I don’t fault him at all for wanting to do whatever they told him to get his mother back. Who wouldn’t in that circumstance? But what annoys me about Adam is his attitude toward Sam and Dean. He acts as if the Boys were somehow responsible for his demise. He acts like they just left him out in the cold. He’s whiny and snarky, and not in any good ways. He doesn’t know a thing about how Sam and Dean were raised, and he just seems to assume they had more access to John than he did. The truth of the matter is that John was just as absent from Dean and Sam’s life as he was from Adam’s. Perhaps even moreso. John would leave the Boys in crap motel rooms or with hunter friends for weeks at a time while he was off chasing monsters. And judging from Dean and Sam’s conversations over the course of the series, John was apparently a pretty mean drunk. Dean and Sam barely had more of a father in John than Adam did. But does Adam know any of that? Nope. Does he even bother asking? Nope. Does he even care? Nope. Adam doesn’t know Sam and Dean. He doesn’t know what they’ve been facing. He doesn’t know the kind of men that they are. What as his deal? Was he jealous because he figured Dean and Sam got to spend more time with John? Was he directing his anger at John toward Dean and Sam? Or was he just being a whiny brat? Whatever his motivation, I was glad to see him go.

Well, that’s my short post about Adam. What do y’all think? Agree? Disagree? I’m interested to hear some different perspectives. Maybe I’m missing something. I’m always happy to reconsider my positions if presented with reasonable arguments. Well, that’s all for now folks. Until next time; peace, love, and joy to all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

